## **Public Notice**

## **Redressal of Complaints of Electricity Consumers**

The Electricity consumers in the State of Punjab, through this notice, are informed that they can approach Dispute Settlement Committees (DSC) of their area in case of **monetary complaints** like

- wrong billing,
- incorrect application of tariff,
- difference in application/calculation of service connection charges and general charges,
- difference in security against consumption,
- defective metering or CT/PT meter errors,
- levy of voltage surcharge,
- supplementary billing or any other charges

(except those arising from matters pertaining to Open Access granted under the Electricity Act,2003 and cases of unauthorized use of electricity and theft cases falling under Sections126,127,135 to140,142,143,146,152 and 161 of the Act.)

Name of DSC	Whom to contact	Disputed amount involved
DDSC	Executive Engineer or Nodal	Upto Rs. 50,000
	officer	
CDSC	Superintending Engineer or	Exceeding
	Nodal officer	Rs.50,000 and
		upto Rs.2 lac
ZDSC	Chief Engineer or Nodal	Exceeding Rs. 2
	officer	lac

Before submitting a monetary complaint, the consumer will be required to deposit 20% of the total disputed amount and proof of deposit will also be attached with the complaint. DSCs will decide cases within 60 days. If the aggrieved consumer is not satisfied, he can file appeal against the order of DSC before CGRF within 3 months of receipt of decision.

In case of **non-monetary complaints**, the aggrieved consumer can approach AE/AEE In-charge of Sub Division of their area for redressal of their complaints such as;

- delay in release of service connection,
- delay in issue of first bill/subsequent bills,
- defects in meter/metering equipments;
- delay in replacement of defective/dead stop meters,
- non-restoration of supply in case of interruption or outage/breakdown or disconnection and
- other miscellaneous defaults etc.

In case the complainant is not satisfied with the response or there is no response, the complainant will have the right to approach the Divisional Dispute Settlement Committee of his/her respective area.